Skip to main content

How to Find a Book

Tips for Finding Books on the Shelf

In order to find a book on the shelves in the CSU Library the first piece of information you need to have is the call number.  This can be found in the CSU Catalog:

You will also need to know which collection the book is located in, this information is also listed in the Catalog.  

To find the book, start with the location in the Library.  Then use the call number to locate the book.  On the book the same call number will be on either the spine of the book or on the front cover.

Here are some tips for reading call numbers:

(Online Library Learning Center, n.d.).

Physical Collection Locations

The Main Level of the Library houses the:

  • Reference Collection
  • Ready Reference Collection
  • South Carolina Collection
  • Periodical Collection

The Second Level of the Library houses the:

  • Circulating Collection
  • Juvenile Collection
  • Curriculum Collection
  • Leisure Collection

The Lower Level* of the Library houses the:

  • Government Documents Collection
  • Rare Book Collection
  • Archive Collection

*These collections can only be accessed with the assistance of a librarian.  Please visit the Questions Desk if you would like a book from one of these collections.


Refer to the Library Map for exact collection locations in the building.

Reference

Online Library Learning Center. (n.d.). The Library of Congress classification system (LC). Retrieved from http://www.usg.edu/galileo/skills/unit03/libraries03_04.phtml


© 2019 Charleston Southern University Library | Accessibility | Privacy | Webmaster

Integrating Faith in Learning, Leading and Serving

email us