It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, educators and students alike, and a must for any core central collection. Updated twice weekly, the database includes First Posting of the latest articles, ensuring access to the newest findings.
A growing repository of psychological tests and measures. APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
So, now that you have your keywords you are ready to start your searches. Here are a few tools that you can use to focus your search:
Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT
AND - use AND in between connected search terms to narrow and focus the search, using AND will usually return fewer results
For example, search for global warming AND polar bears and the search will return only results that include both search terms
OR - use OR to search for results that contain alternatives to your search terms, using OR will usually return more results
For example, search for global warming OR climate change and the search will return results that include either of these search terms
NOT - use NOT if there is a search term that you want to exclude from your results
For example, search for global warming NOT greenhouse gases if you want to exclude all results that include greenhouse gases
Note: these operators can be used together
For example, search for global warming OR climate change AND polar bears for results that contain global warming and polar bears and also climate change and polar bears
Quotation marks: place around phrases or words that should show up in results together, such as "global warming". Otherwise, a search will be done for both global by itself and warming by itself.
Truncation: use an asterisk to search for a term that may have many variations, such as warm*. In this case, all terms that start with warm will be found, including warming, warms, warmer, etc.
Noncommercial Psychological Assessments
APA PsycTestsThis link opens in a new windowA growing repository of psychological tests and measures. APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowThis database contains records from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) and full text documents from EBSCO. Includes dissertations and theses.
Mental Measurements YearbookThis link opens in a new windowProduced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, this is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments from 1938 to the present. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within the areas of psychology, education, business, leadership, and more. All MMY entries contain descriptive information including test purpose, publisher, pricing, and edited reviews written by content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
From the CDC: "The reports and other products in this section can serve as resources to public health officials and other health professionals who need up-to-date statistics and data sources around mental health and mental illness."
From NIH: "The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)."