AERN 240: Aviation Weather

The resources on this page contain student reference materials, library links & tools, and videos.

• Click on the 'CSU Books, Journals & Articles' tab on the left side of this page to access additional materials available through the CSU Library.

APA 7th Edition – Citation Guide – Published online by the Rivers Library

Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style - An APA tutorial on the basics of APA 7th edition.

APA Formatting and Style Guide - Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University. OWL provides detailed information provides example papers in the APA format. OWL also provides many examples for citing sources.

APA Style - The official website of the APA. Includes helpful tutorials and tools for learning APA style, as well as a sample paper, sample reference page, and sample appendices. Scroll down to the section Popular Style Guidelines.

APA Style Blog - The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day. This is a great place to find additional information about citing sources in APA format. You can even email the experts if you can't find the correct format.

Citation Help – Published online by the Rivers Library

Copyright Help – Published online by the Rivers Library

Two citation tools which may help in APA formatting for writing assignments and/or presentations: Noodle Tools and Scribbr Citation Generator.

Evaluating Resources – Published online by the Rivers Library

Online readers such as Natural Reader and TTSREADER will read text for you once you paste the text in the reader. Additional tools for Chrome browsers include: Voice Note, Voice Note II, and Chrome extensions Read Aloud, or the Chrome High Contrast for Web Pages.

Google Tips and Tricks – Published online by the Rivers Library

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) / National Weather Service (NWS) Websites:

• NWS Homepage
• NWS Environmental Modeling Center
• NWS Weather Prediction Center – North American Surface Analysis Maps
• NOAA Climate

University and Private Sector General Weather Websites:

• The Weather Channel
• Weather Underground
• www.weatherbug.com
• Accuweather
• Unisys Weather
• National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) Real-Time Weather
• American Meteorological Society DataStreme Project
• University of Wyoming Weather Web
• Plymouth State University Weather Center– contains both real-time and archived weather products
• College of DuPage – click Weather Analysis Tools for a menu of options
• Iowa State University – generate a meteogram from current model data
• WindyTy  and Earthnullschool - Graphical, interactive displays of real-time weather using numerical model data

Aviation Specific Weather Data and Forecasts:

• NOAA’s Aviation Weather Center (AWC)

Satellite Imagery:

• Geostationary Satellite Imagery: GOES-16 Imagery - Covers Eastern US
• Geostationary Satellite Imagery for Rest of the World
• NOAA Polar Satellite Imagery
• Other NOAA Satellite Imagery Products
• University of Wisconsin’s SSEC Images and Data
• Naval Research Lab Satellite Imagery
• NASA Earth Observatory

Severe Weather:

• NOAA / NWS Storm Prediction Center

Tropical Weather:

• National Hurricane Center 
• DS Storm Coverage- Tracks active tropical cyclones in Eastern Pacific and Atlantic Basins 
• U of Wisconsin - Madison SSEC Tropical Cyclone Page

Weather Tutorials and Lessons:

• University Center for Atmospheric Research’s COMET MetEd Weather Tutorial Login page- Register on this website, as some of these tutorials will be assigned during the course as reading
• University of Illinois WW 2010 Weather Tutorial 
• National Weather Service’s JETSTREAM weather school 
• CIMSS Meteorology Lessons 
• Windows to the Universe – Atmospheric Structure and Weather Lessons 
• Navy Aerographer’s Mate Meteorology Training Publications 
• Navy Aerographer's Mate Meteorology Training and Publications (PDF) 
• Station Plotting Model guide 
• The Weather Prediction Website - Weather and Forecasting Education and Resources 
• NWS Weather Calculators and Converters 
• AMS Glossary of Meteorology 
• NWS Glossary of Weather Terms 
• Office of the Federal Coordinator of Meteorology Handbook #1 – Surface Observations and Report (PDF) 
• United States Air Force Handbook 15-101 – Meteorological Techniques
• FAA Pilot Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge (PHAK)

Aviation Weather Research:

• FAA Aviation Weather Research Program
• NCAR’s Aviation Applications Project

Aviation Weather Videos