Education Subject Guide

This resource for fiction and nonfiction provides genre lists, plot summaries, author information, award lists, book jacket images, and book reviews from more than 30 sources.

Provides book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources, with many of the reviews from serious, academic works. Includes reviews of books for adults, young adults, and children.

NoveList K-8 is a subset of the database used in NoveList Plus for grades K-8. It does not include adult titles, except for a very limited number used in middle school curricula (e.g. To Kill a Mockingbird). Access provided by DISCUS

Includes picture books with added animation, sound, music and narration which you can read or have read to you. Also includes National Geographic videos and games, access to the Common Core Portal, quizzes and teacher materials/lesson plans. Access provided by DISCUS

Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Access provided by DISCUS

The enhanced interface to Science Reference Center. Access provided by DISCUS

Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings from Springer-Verlag.

Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror. Reference content, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,500 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers are aligned to curriculum and provide many options for an exploration of U.S. history.

A comprehensive full text history reference database designed undergraduate research. Access provided by DISCUS

The enhanced interface to History Reference Center. Access provided by DISCUS

Provides concise, reliable and up-to-date country reports on the cultures of the world--from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe! Access provided by DISCUS

Spanish elementary encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish that includes encyclopedia articles, pictures, and interactive materials supporting language arts, math, science, and social studies. Access provided by DISCUS