Health Sciences Subject Guide

3D Human Anatomy & Physiology is an innovative, integrated, multimedia learning resource, featuring 20 interactive modules utilizing effective techniques to help students master anatomy and physiology. With content equivalent to the major anatomy and physiology text books, Primal’s 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology brings learning to life with interactive 3D models, narrated animations, and a comprehensive atlas of micro-anatomy, histology and dissection images, as well as a wealth of ancillary content that covers aging, case studies, common clinical conditions and quizzes. Access provided by PASCAL

An evidence-based clinical decision support resource intended for healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care. After logging in as a current CSU student, faculty, or staff, you will be prompted to register or login with UpToDate. This registration is optional, but will provide several benefits, including improved mobile access. If you have trouble registering from off campus, contact dzeinoun@csuniv.edu. Please include your full name and CSU ID number.

Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Access provided by DISCUS

Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

A multi-source database that provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.

This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing. Access provided by DISCUS

Part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data and compiling statistical information to identify and address health issues, and to help guide public health and health policy decisions. It includes National Vital Statistics.

A database that covers sport, fitness, and related disciplines. SPORTDiscus with Full Text includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 199 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.  With its wide array of indexed journals, it addresses the topics of sports, sports medicine, exercise, kinesiology, movement science and more. SPORTDiscus contains full-text articles for more than 530 journals dating back as far as 1985, as well as books, book chapters, conference proceedings and even articles from some major sports and leisure magazines.